Autosubscribe peculiarities

Looking for clarification on the autosubscribe behavior.

Was having issues with subscription messages not being sent. I was using a single event handler that handles an abstract super-class of multiple events. The subscription documentation here didn’t seem to help:

I eventually found the answer here:
https://groups.google.com/forum/#!searchin/particularsoftware/autosubscribe|sort:relevance/particularsoftware/Fcnn5gtdE9Q/3FiY3NxM2LcJ

The autosubscribe feature that NServiceBus has out of the box only automatically subscribes if there are handlers for the specific message types

I can fix the issue by explicitly subscribing to each message type after the endpoint has started.

What I’m still confused about though is that, without explicitly subscribing, instead of getting no subscription messages at all I got a single subscription message for one of the specific events, which is a sub-class of the type I handle. Does anyone know why that is?

Hey Nathan,

To help me understand your scenario better, can you tell me which version of NServiceBus and which transport you’re using? We’ve made several changes around routing and message driven publish/subscribe in v6 which relate to message hierachies.

Do you specify your routing information via the MessageEndpointMappings section in the config file or via code first API?

Hi Tim,

We’re using NServiceBus 6 (v6.3.4 at the time of writing), with MSMQ Transport (no DTC) and SQL Persistence.

I’m using the code-first API, namely this method:

RoutingSettings<MsmqTransport>.RegisterPublisher(Type eventType, string publisherEndpoint)

I call this method for every IEvent type I want to subscribe to. We use an instance mapping file for physical routing.

Hey Nathan,

I still struggle to fully understand the behavior you’re describing. Let me try to recapture how I understood your setup: