Do not throw System.Exception

NServiceBus 7.0.0-rc0001

I’ve just encountered the following exception:

System.Exception: ‘Cannot configure routing for assembly XXXX because it contains no types considered as messages. Message types have to either implement NServiceBus.IMessage interface or match a defined message convention.’

Regardless of what caused the exception, which I am investigating, I find it not adequate that NSB throws System.Exception instead of correctly defined exceptions, like NServiceBus.CannotConfigureRoutingException or similar.

+1
And same for “No license found”.

As a developer I always configure my debugger to break on all exceptions when they are thrown and disable the exception that I don’t want to see. Ignoring System.Exception hides all other exceptions.

When starting up NSB throws 12 System.Exceptions with the message “no license found” or someting that are all caught by the next layer until it finds the license I configured in the config file. This is very annoying…

Hi Francesc and Marc

Thanks for providing us with the feedback. By reading through your input, I can identify two problems:

• Usage of general purpose exceptions over specific exception types which makes it hard to filter out exceptions not interested in when debugging the application
  • Control flow by exception in licensing which makes the debugger halt unnecessarily when break on all exceptions is enabled

would that be a correct summary of the problems you identified?

Regards
Daniel

Hi Daniel,
Regarding the specific exception types. Yes, that’s correct. I would also add that it’s not only for debugging purposes, but also for exception handling in code. Some exceptions need to be handled deeper in the code so some specific handling code can be executed, whether other exceptions need to bubble up and even make the application crash. Right now, this could only be done by parsing the message of the exception.