NServiceBus and WCF

Hello,

First off, I’m really new to all this messaging stuff, so please excuse what might be a dumb question!

We have a WPF application, used by people all over the world, and data is accessed via WCF services. We want to allow the server to inform the client when data has changed (eg, user Jim modifies a customer, we want everyone else to know about the change).

I was looking at the publish/subscribe demo, as that looks to be what we want. In our case, when a WCF service call was made, the server could publish a message, and the WPF apps that subscribed to it would pick it up.

We would be interested in doing this using NServiceBus on top of MSMQ.

My main question is, does this require MSMQ to be installed on the client machine? Installing it on the server is no problem, but I can’t imagine how we’re going to get it installed on all the client machines.

If it does have to be installed, is there any other way of having the clients pick up the messages?

Thanks for any help you can give.

Hi yossu

Thanks for reaching out. First of all I don’t believe there are dumb questions. It is great that you reach out when you have questions and we are here to help.

So if you are using MSMQ then MSMQ has to be installed on the client machines as well as on the server machines and it has to be possible to access MSMQ ports. This is mostly OK if the clients and the servers are running in the same network. It can be a problem when clients need to run in a different network. Even if you are running the clients in a DMZ then the MSMQ resources and ports need to be reachable between the DMZ and the intranet. Can you elaborate a bit more your client / server deployment scenario so that we can help you go into the right directions?

I’m also happy to hop on a call to better understand what sort of problem domain we are talking about. Feel free to reach out to me at daniel dot marbach at particular dot net

Regards
Daniel

Hi Daniel, thanks for the reply.