NServiceBus for .NET Core - release candidate announcement

Hi everyone,

We’re happy to announce the release candidate of NServiceBus for .NET Core, allowing you to run high-performance endpoints on both Windows and Linux platforms. The release candidate version is available with a go-live license and is fully supported for production use.

.NET Core support is part of NServiceBus Version 7. See the full list of changes and guidance on how to upgrade in our upgrade guide.

We recommend the following official resources for more information about .NET Core:

To learn more about the platforms supported by NServiceBus, please refer to the
platform support documentation.

2 Likes

Am I correct to assume that the “wire compatibility” remains in tact allowing end points running NSB 6 ans NSB 7 to communicate? That would seem to also imply that a mixture of .NET Core and .NET Framework end points are supported in a similar manner. Is that correct?

Full disclosure… I am just BEGINNING to research what it will take to move my team’s largest web client from MVC to ASP Core 2.x. I don’t know what I don’t know (yet). In that light, I want to also thank you for including links to that supplemental guidance. Very helpful! :slight_smile:

Hi @Justin,

Yes to both.

Thanks Sean.

I think that’s going to make our reliance on MSMQ within our existing NSB 6-based endpoints the largest technical challenge.

My intention is to move individual services to .NET Core as opposed to a single massive upgrade cycle for all of our existing endpoints. If there are any emerging best practices in this regard, please share them.

My current thinking is that my Core-based endpoints will need to move to RabbitMQ and that I will need to develop my own integration endpoints to bridge the new Rabbit-based bus with the legacy MSMQ-based bus. Basically, the same approach I would take if I was integrating with a 3rd party system written in a different language. Does that sound right?

Hi Justin,