NServiceBus in a single-process application?

Hi,

First off, I am quite new to asynchronous messaging, and to NServiceBus in particular. That said, I am investigating viability of a technical architecture for a client.

The application in question is a single-user, background service that is installed on a single appliance in an industrial environment (or on a client computer for testing, demo’s) running on Windows 10. It accepts sensory value samples on a tcp port, and sends a processed message of those samples on to a display or client application.

Inside the application are 5 ‘building blocks’ each with their own responsibility to handle the incoming values. The plan is to implement it as a single process (Windows service) to keep installation and troubleshooting straightforward.

Included is a diagram of the data flow and building blocks. Samplebox and Display/Meltcontrol are external appliances/applications. The application in question is inside the fat rectangle.

I have implemented a PoC as a Generic Host that spins up five BackgroundServices, one for each building block, and am trying to use NServiceBus to handle intra-process communication asynchrously. Since the application already requires SQL Server, I am reusing SQL as Transport. This eliminates dependency on- and installation of yet another layer such as RabbitMQ.

So far that seems to work, but I can’t solve following issues:

• Prevent data loss. Pick up where we left of in case the process or one of its blocks dies. Synchronous communication looses the sample value in that case.
  • Scalability. Launch more than one instance of the block with the highest workload. Implement the competing-consumer pattern.

I think this is not a typical use case for NServiceBus, or at least I cannot find all the info I need on SO or in the docs. So I would like to ask for some help: