Unsure if I am understanding pessimistic locking functionality correctly

I am using NHibernate persistence which I understand utilizes pessimistic locking. I am fairly new to distributed systems and am unsure if my understanding of this behavior is correct from the docs.

My understanding is basically that in multiple host/thread scenarios, a handler in a given saga can only be invoked by one thread/host at a time, and is “locked” before it begins to run the handler method, insuring that no data is edited concurrently/with conflicts. Messages attempting to run the same handler while one is locked are sent to retry queue. This is the default behavior with no configurations set for NHibernate persistence.

Is this understanding correct?

Please and thank you,
Matt

Hi @MattN42

Yes, the saga row in a database is locked before the handler executed. In most cases (happy cases) this guarantees that only one thread in one process on one host can execute the message handling logic. This is not a 100% guarantee, though. It might happen that this thread that started executed saga logic happens to be on a machine that loses connectivity with the DB server. Once the DB detects lost connection it may release the locks held on that row and another thread on another machine can start executing.

This is why the NHibernate persister uses optimistic concurrency (in addition to pessimistic) to make sure that only one of these threads can successfully persist the state change.